My Half Marathon Training Plan

Based on what I have read online from credible running resources, it is really important to have a training plan and to stick to it! After looking around at different plans that varied in weekly mileage and the structure of the runs, I have chosen to follow Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 Half Marathon plan. I like that it incorporates running relatively short distances only 3 days during the week with one long run at the end of the week. For me, this seems completely do-able and should fit well into my schedule during the school year and summer vacation. I may shift around when I do my long run in order to take advantage of days when I have more free time but otherwise I plan to stay consistent to avoid injury and running burnout.

I have to admit that my main source of anxiety is completing those long runs. I find it hard to imagine (physically and mentally) that I will be running up to 10-11 miles but it is going to be happen! I think my main motivation will be dreaming about what food I will be eating afterwards…

