Starting Off the Weekend Right

I rearranged my training schedule a bit for this weekend because I am running in a 5k race on Sunday. I didn’t want to do my long run on Saturday before the race so I pushed it up to Friday! Technically I am not supposed to be doing a long run and a race in the same weekend but I didn’t want to skip a week. Because of this mini training schedule rebellion I decided to keep the distance around 6 miles and not go up to 7 miles just yet (next week though!).

I am not going to lie, I was not super motivated for this run because 1.) it was dark/wet outside 2.) I was at work until 11:30pm last night and 3.) my bed was warm and comfy. Despite all these forces wanting to keep me in bed with a warm cup of tea, I got off my butt and went for it because I knew I would feel great afterwards.

…And guess what? I felt amazing! The first two miles were difficult (as always) but after that point, I got into a groove. Besides dodging some puddles and cars, the neighborhood route I took was scenic and relatively flat. Unfortunately during the last 2 miles of my run, the weather started turn against me. The nice sprinkles that were keeping me cool turned into rain droplets, which was not the most comfortable to run through.

Now with my long run out of the way…TGIF!

