Rest or Run?

I had planned to run my longest run yet (8 miles) today but decided to postpone it for tomorrow. I worked out my hamstrings on Wednesday and did a hard cardio/strength circuit video that I love on Thursday (Jillian Michael’s Banish Fat Boost Metabolism: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTT4W8ygJ7w) so I was DEFINITELY feeling sore. My hamstrings still feel tight which makes me nervous about doing the long run tomorrow. I have been trying to stretch, ice, and foam roll to speed up the recovery process but I am still not 100%. I don’t know whether I am ambivalent about the run because it is my farthest run and I am nervous I won’t be able to do it or if my concern about getting injured from tight muscles is valid. I have searched all over the internet for an answer to whether I should do the run tomorrow and the answers are incredibly varied. I want to tackle the challenge but I also don’t want to sideline myself with an injury because I know how awful it feels.

The weather should be beautiful tomorrow, I don’t have to go to work, and my only commitment is studying for my last final so the setting is perfect. However, I want to make sure that I am motivated, enjoy the run, and listen to my body.

