Image

For my long run today, I braved the 405 traffic and headed to the beach! I went with the intention of doing 10 miles and, if I felt like going farther, doing 12 miles (my farthest running distance yet). Honestly, I didn’t think today would be a good run because of a very aggravating morning and this feeling continued when I started off down San Vicente. My mind was not fully in it but I figured that any run was better than no run (plus the beach scenery is a good motivator). I started to get into a groove while listening to my podcast and looking out at the ocean, but at around mile 4 the “not feeling it” sensation came back. For the first time since I started running a year ago, I got a side cramp that would not go away. I tried to massage it out while running but I ended up needing to walk intermittently to make it go away. At that point I thought I would barely make it to 10 miles, but I knew I had to get back to my car somehow – and walking back would take a lot longer. In retrospect, I am really glad that I didn’t stress out about it and listened to my body. 

Image

Of course after finishing my longest run to date (only 0.6 miles away from a half marathon!) I thought about the pizza I would be eating later for dinner! And this is not just any pizza but Pizzeria Mozza pizza…

Image

