Image

This morning I woke up feeling like I needed a challenge and conquering some hills fit the bill. I decided to go to Fryman Canyon and try running the trail which has an 463 ft elevation gain in 1.5 miles (I looked this up online). Even though I normally walk/hike Fryman, I thought I could handle running it… I was wrong. It felt like I was running up a flight of really steep stairs and my heart was beating out of my chest. After realizing that I was not going to make it all the way up the incline, I wisely elected to switch to a run/walk combo, which still really challenged me. Running has really improved my cardiovascular strength but this experience kicked my butt! I ended up going up/down the 0.3 mile paved portion twice and then running around the residential neighborhood nearby for a total of 5 miles. I know from listening to  running experts that hill training is an important addition for strength and speed so I am glad that I pushed myself harder than usual (even though I had to walk some segments). My lower body is definitely thanking me now too – foam roller time!

I am adding this Brooks Run Happy picture because 1.) I love doughnuts 2.) I want this doughnut  3.) I approve this message

Image

