Based on the title of this post, you can see how excited I am to have finally bought new running shoes! I love my old Asics but I have had them for 2 years now and have logged close to 450-500 miles on them (in addition to hiking and working out at the gym). From what I have read online about the lifespan of a running shoe* and the look on the employee’s face at the running store when I showed him my worn down Asics, it was about time for a new pair. Since I bought my Asics before I started running regularly, I decided that I should get an expert opinion on what shoes to buy now. I also had a $25 for $50 Groupon to a running store, which didn’t hurt either! It was a great decision to get the expert advice and be open minded with choosing a new shoe because I ended up with a brand/model that wasn’t even on my radar. I ended up getting Saucony Guide 6 and I am so pleased with my purchase! 

Image

I tried them out for the first time on my 5 mile run today and they felt GREAT! I don’t know if it was the shoes or a combination of factors, but I felt lighter and ran faster than I have been for the past few weeks.

I hate to end this positive update on a downer note but honestly my long run this week was boring. I ended up doing 10 miles with plenty of challenging hills but I was bored for most of the time. I tried to pick a new route that allowed me to enter into the Encino Reservoir for a change of scenery, but that was a major fail. The entrance was padlocked shut and I ended up running along busy residential and commercial streets for the rest of the time.  I love to run but I am not a fan of a boring run that I need to get through for the sake of completing a distance. As for next week, I am really busy and will be running the Los Angeles Frontrunner’s Pride Run 10k in West Hollywood next Sunday so I plan to cut back on the mileage and give my body a well deserved break! 

my long run route: 

Image

* information on running shoes: http://www.runnersworld.com/running-shoes/running-shoe-faq?page=single

