Image

It feels surreal that I am getting closer and closer to my first half marathon. Since I started my training in April, I have not sustained any injuries or sickness to slow me to down (knock on wood), which I am very thankful for. I know how terrible it feels not being able to run because of pain or sickness, so everyday that I get to run is a great day. When I first started running around a year ago, I never would have thought that 2013 would bring a half marathon. I was nervous and focused on finishing a 5k in August of last year and now I am training for 13.1 miles. Even though people say this all the time, I truly believe that if I can do it, anyone can. I have never been a runner and have always considered running the ultimate challenge. Last year, I spontaneously decided to go on a run after a HORRIBLE day at work to blow off steam.  I could barely run 1 mile without feeling like my heart was going to beat out of my chest, but I kept with it and completed two difficult miles. I started running 2 miles 2-3 times a week and it gradually started getting easier. However, I wanted to challenge myself with my running so I decided to sign up for a 5k race (the farthest I have EVER run at this point). After successfully completing my first 5k with the support of my friends and family, I was officially hooked on running/racing. I started running farther and building my confidence that I was strong and physically capable of longer races. Long story short: I signed up for a 10k Thanksgiving Turkey Trot race, got my first injury that sidelined me for a month and required physical therapy, completed my first 10k while recovering from my injury, and signed up for this half marathon! I have learned a lot about running, my body, and myself through finding running (sounds cheezy, I know). While there have been moments where I felt like I couldn’t run a certain distance or comeback after being hurt, I realized that the only thing holding me back was fear. By acknowledging this fear and trying to move beyond it, I have been able to come from that 1 mile accomplishment to a half marathon now…and maybe a marathon in the future. 

Well, that is the end of the mushy,reflective stuff! Here is my typical 5 mile run:

Image

 

