Image

On Wednesday night, I realized that I needed to move up my final long run based on my summer school schedule. I am definitely a “schedule person” so this minor change of running on Thursday morning, instead of Friday morning, made me feel off kilter. However, it was 100% an anticipatory mental block because once I started running, I felt more confident and at ease.

This was the final long run of my half marathon training plan and consisted of 9 miles around Balboa Park. Nothing out of the ordinary happened but I experimented with a new Gu flavor called Jet Blackberry. Overall, I liked the new flavor because it tasted like jam but I don’t think I could handle eating it all the time because it was so sweet! I will be sticking to my usual Chocolate Gu for my half marathon next Sunday because I know my stomach can handle it. And speaking of next Sunday’s race, I am starting to get nostalgic about my training over the past few months. I am proud to say that I never missed a single long run or weekly training run! Before starting my training, I was worried that increasing my mileage could potentially lead to an injury but I think sticking to the plan and doing a combination of yoga and strength training has made a big difference. This week will be light on mileage in anticipation of the 13.1 miles!

Image

